Committees of Council - St Andrew's College

Committees of Council


In order to carry out its work effectively and efficiently, Council has established a number of sub-committees, the membership of which includes both Council members and independent  members. The Committees are mandated to discuss matters in detail and to make recommendations to Council. The meeting schedule of the Committees is co-ordinated with that of Council, and the minutes of Committee meetings are included in the Council documentation.

The Committees of Council are as follows:

Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee will support Council in building its composition in experience, qualifications, diversity and skills to reflect the key stakeholders of our community and to successfully meet the challenges facing St Andrew’s College and Prep.

A priority for the Committee is to develop a robust nominations process which will be communicated to the Andrean community once it has been approved by Council.

The Committee is chaired by Ms Margie Keeton, with Mr Malcolm MacKenzie as a member. In addition, Mr Mila Mafanya, the Vice Chairman of the Old Andrean Club, is also a member.

Risk and Compliance Committee

A Risk and Compliance Committee of Council is being established to effectively manage, mitigate and monitor all known and anticipated non-financial risks that may face College now and in the future.

The Committee will also ensure that the school has the means and capacity to comply with all legal and regulatory requirements, and that all internal processes are aligned to the relevant policies

The Committee is chaired by Prof Owen Skae, with Mrs Dimakatso Matshoga as a Committee member.

Grounds and Buildings Committee

All major capital, development and maintenance projects on campus are prioritised and managed through the Grounds and Buildings Committee.

The Committee is chaired by Mr John Dovey.

Human Resources Committee

The Committee is tasked with ensuring good governance of the Human Resources strategies, policies and procedures required to meet the school’s institutional requirements, and to fulfill its statutory obligations. The Committee is concerned with employee relations, staff development and training, and equality and diversity in respect of staff.

The Committee is chaired by Mr Tando Mkosi, while Mr Jacko Maree, Dr Fenella Johns and Mr Ross Mariner (an independent member) are members of the Committee.

Transformation and Diversity Committee

The Committee oversees and monitors the operational aspects of the school’s transformation and diversity strategy,  and provides assurance to Council that these items are being effectively delivered.

This Committee is chaired by Mr Jacko Maree and includes two additional Council members – Mr Simphiwe Nghona and Mr Khudusela Pitje. Several other Old Andreans also serve on this Committee – Mr Uli Ratsibe, Mr Thomas Avutia and Mr Mncedisi Jekwa.

Scholarships and Bursaries Committee

The Scholarships & Bursaries Committee is accountable for the oversight of the approval and disbursement of scholarships and bursaries funding at St Andrew’s College and Prep. The Committee has oversight of the available funds from both endowed investments and current donations, and ensures that awards are allocated in the prescribed manner to deserving pupils. The Committee reviews the scholarships and bursaries procedures and makes recommendations for change where necessary.

The Scholarships and Bursaries Committee is chaired by Mr Jacko Maree, while Mr David Wilson and Mr Simon White are members.

Investment Committee

The Investment Committee is responsible for the oversight of the performance of the funds in which the school’s endowed funds are invested.

This Committee is chaired by Mr David Wilson. Mr Jacko Maree, Mr James Clucas and Mr Simon White are members on the Committee, while other independent members are Mr Ed Southey, Mr Geoff Jennett, Mr Gavin Harvey and Mr Simon Ridley.

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee, which is still to be established, will oversee the school’s financial risk management and internal control framework. It will ensure good governance of all matters relating to the finances of St Andrew’s College.

St Andrew’s Prep Committee

The Committee is responsible for the oversight of all relevant matters pertaining to St Andrew’s Prep.

The Committee is chaired by Mr Stephen Moorcroft, while Mr Malcolm MacKenzie and Mr Bongisizwe Mpondo (an independent member) are members of the Committee.