St Andrew's College Shield - 25 - 28 January 2024 - St Andrew's College

St Andrew’s College Shield – 25 – 28 January 2024

Welcome to New Staff members
Jan 23, 2024
SAC Shield Water Polo Tournament Programme 2024
Jan 25, 2024

St Andrew’s College Shield – 25 – 28 January 2024

St Andrew’s College Celebrates Rich History of Water Polo with Premier Tournament:

In 1987, St Andrew’s College dipped its toes into the world of water polo by hosting its inaugural tournament. It wasn’t until 1991, however, that the prestigious St Andrew’s College Shield was officially introduced, with Selborne emerging as the inaugural champions. The indomitable Rob Lodge, a former master and water polo coach, played a pivotal role in shaping St. Andrew’s water polo into a force to be reckoned with during the 90s.

Transitioning into the early 2000s, the top-tier 1st team water polo tournaments included Grey Bloemfontein, Vides (Selborne), St Andrew’s Shield, and SACS (Cape Town).

Over the years, the St Andrew’s College Shield evolved, and for an extended period, it hosted the Plate section. In 2019, responding to the growing number of tournaments on the school calendar, St Andrew’s College, under the leadership of the newly appointed Director of Water Polo, Grant Mackenzie, decided to revamp the format. The goal was to attract the finest schools from across the country, elevating the event to one of the premier 1st team water polo tournaments.

The tournament’s growth has been remarkable, and this year, the top four teams from the St Stithians Stayers tournament, namely SACS, St John’s, St Andrew’s, and St Stithians, are set to participate. Last year’s champions, Paul Roos, will face off against local powerhouses Selborne and Grey PE. The Cape Town contingent includes Bishops, champions in 2020 and 2022, and Rondebosch, the 2021 runners-up. Hailing from KZN are Clifton, the 2014 event winners, along with Hilton, Michaelhouse, and Westville.

To ensure the tournament maintains its high standards, St Andrew’s College has enlisted some of the country’s top referees. Dion Willis, Vice President of the World Water Polo Referees Association and a World Aquatics TWPC member, boasts a résumé that includes officiating at two Olympic Games and numerous other accolades. The roster also features World Aquatics referees Luke Penney, Dasch Barber, Josie Calvert, Lee Keet-Stewart, Lucky Letshabo, Warren Beuster, and Matt Stringer, each with their own impressive international experiences.

Anticipated to be a fiercely competitive event, the tournament promises close matches, and St Andrew’s College extends a warm welcome to all participants and spectators. We look forward to showcasing our renowned hospitality in the charming city of Makhanda.