OA Weekend Cricket - St Andrew's College

OA Weekend Cricket

Tennis: St Andrew’s College vs Kingswood College
Nov 13, 2023
Junior Colts Cricket
Nov 27, 2023

OA Weekend Cricket

Shaw Brown 20/20 Trophy

St Andrew’s College secured a 7 wicket win on Friday versus Kingswood College on City Lords and retained the annual Shaw Brown 20/20 Trophy.

Kingswood College 100/8 (20 overs) (Matthew Collett 29, Joe Wostenholm 2/13, Roman Van Zyl 2/18, Oliver Snart 2/20)

St Andrew’s College 105/3 (11.4 overs) (Murray Wilson 29* (15), Matthew Poole 16*)

St Andrew’s College won by 7 wickets


2nd XI vs The 1993 1st XI OAs who toured the UK in 1993 (T20 Day Night, Knowling field)

Well done to the 1993 College Cricket Team for returning to College for a celebration match vs the College 2nd XI under the Knowling lights. It was a memorable occasion shared with their 1st XI Coach, Mr Gerry Catto.

OA XI (1993) 162/8 (Paul Penzhorn 30, Andrew Emslie (recruited in) 59*, Mike Emslie 31*, Bert White 2/9, Wiliam Stern 2/14)

2nd XI 164/1 (Mark Were 50*, Cameron Bennett 52*, Laurie Apps 27*)

2nd XI won by 9 wickets

1st XI vs the OA XI (50 overs) (Lower field)

 Luke Danckwerts won the toss on Saturday in the annual OA match and elected to field first. The OA XI did well to stem the flow of runs and picked up wickets at regular intervals throughout the day, dismissing College for 225 in the 49th over.

In response, the College Opening bowlers, Roman Van Zyl and Joe Wostenholm produced a well-executed and disciplined opening spell, which the OA XI never recovered from. Thanks to the OAs for their commitment to the day, which was filled with connection and their presence at the Cricket Club dinner was much appreciated, and a fitting way to round off the year of cricket at College. Well done to all the College cricketers for their contributions this year, and for being wonderful ambassadors and custodians of the game.

St Andrew’s College 225 all out (48.1) (Sibusiso Mxube 46, Matthew Poole 45) (Brad Van Heerden 4/45, Zach Micklewright 2/11)

OA XI (Joe Wostenholm 2/14, Roman Van Zyl 2/27. Sibusiso Mxube 2/10, William Stern 2/8)

St Andrew’s College won by 140 runs.

Winner of the OA Bat, Sibuiso Mxube awarded by Mr William Fowlds.