Inter-House Athletics - St Andrew's College

Inter-House Athletics

The Retreat Ceremony
Oct 4, 2022
EP High Schools Rugby Union 7s
Oct 11, 2022

Inter-House Athletics

All the Houses went into this year’s Athletics season with their sights on the two major cups, The Bevil Rudd Cup for relays and the Saner Cup on Sports Day.

Mullins House’s U14s and U15s completely dominated the proceedings in both the relays and Sports Day. Armstrong’s, Graham’s, and Mullins’ strategy of widespread competitive participation proved to be key in the outcome of the overall results.

Bryce Putzier, as he has done over the years, capped his excellence in Athletics by setting the new record in the U19 Pole Vault at 4,20m. Bryce is also the current record holder of the U16 Pole Vault set in 2020 and the U17 set in 2021.

We express our heartful thank you to all the staff who helped with the officiating at various events throughout the season and to the athletes who turned out enthusiastically to display their talents.

Mrs Chantal Putzier, the mother of our 2022 Athletics Captain, presented of the trophies.

Brukman’s Cup:                     Most points in the U14 and U15 events                                                 Mullins House

Matt Archer Trophy:            Best senior middle-distance athlete                                                       Dylan Heurlin

William Counsell Trophy:    Best junior middle-distance athlete                                                       Jean de Villiers

Mickey Bryant Trophy:        Winner of Senior 800m                                                                           Nicholas Lane

Saner Trophy:                       Winner of the U19 400m                                                                        Matthew Russell

DSG Cuff Links:                      Winner of the 110m Hurdles                                                                   Bryce Putzier

Esterhuysen Cup:                  Best Jump or Hurdle Performance                                                          Bryce Putzier

Nicholas Cup for Endeavour (Senior):            Matthew Gouws

Kruiskamp Cup for Endeavour (Junior):        Luca Nigrini       

Bevil Rudd Cup:                     Winner of the Relays Competition                                                         Mullins House

Saner Cup:                              Winner of the Inter House Competition                                                Graham House

Our Athletics Captain for 2023 is Matthew Gouws.