College Inter-House Gala - St Andrew's College

College Inter-House Gala

U15 Robert Charlton Water Polo Tournament
Feb 24, 2022
Information Evening in East London on 8 March 2022
Feb 24, 2022

College Inter-House Gala

Wednesday the 23th Of February saw the finals on the Inter-House Gala. We were very lucky with the weather and everything went off well.

There were several closely contested races and a substantial number of records were broken.

Relays: Upper dominated the relays with Graham coming a close second followed by Espin and Mullins tied in 3rd place, Armstrong in 5th and Merriman in 6th place.

Upper House broke the record for the Open 4 x 50m Medley relay.

The individual Events: Upper came out on Top with 649 points, followed by Graham on 633 points, Mullins in 3rd, Espin and Armstrong tied in 4th and Merriman 6th place.

Individual Achievements:

U14 Boys:

  • Zack Fletcher won 3 races: the 100m and 200m Freestyle and the 50m Butterfly
  • Adam Ball won 4 races: the 50m and 100m Breaststroke, the 100m IM and 50m Freestyle.

U15 Boys:

  • Adam Nurse won all the 7 races in swam in, including the 3 pre gala events, the 400m and 200m Freestyle and the 200m Breaststroke
  • Daniel Fowlds won the 50m and 100m backstroke

U16 Boys:

·         Nic Franklin won all five races he swam in.

·         Connor McNamara won the 200IM and 100 backstroke


·         Oliva Lange won an incredible seven events in the u16 section and set six new gala records for the 400m and 200m Freestyle, 200m IM, 200m, 100m and 50m Breaststroke, 5
·         Joss Hempel won the 50m and 100m Butterfly and the 100m Freestyle, he also set a new record for the 100m butterfly.

·         Ethan John won the 50m and 100m backstroke


Adam Nurse was named the Best Junior Swimmer and Oliva Lange as the Best Senior Swimmer.

Joss Hempel won the Mike Lake Trophy for Endeavour and Ethan John won the Institute cup for his contribution to swimming.

Overall Results:

Upper won the inter-house gala with a total of 752 points followed by Graham on 731 points, Mullins in 3rd , Espin in 4th  and Armstrong and Merriman  finishing off in 5th and 6th place respectively.

Thank you to Mr. Joe Orsmond our esteemed commentator, Mr. Dean Ferreira for stepping in as the official starter, Mrs.Mandy Ladds and the data capturing crew, Mr. Stephen Penney and the live streaming crew and the staff he made the event possible and run smoothly.