Rowing- Leander Club 140th Anniversary Regatta - St Andrew's College

Rowing- Leander Club 140th Anniversary Regatta

Scuba Diving Course
Oct 29, 2021
1st XV Cricket vs Woodridge College
Nov 2, 2021

Rowing- Leander Club 140th Anniversary Regatta

It was a first competitive outing in over 18 months for many of the St Andrew’s College rowers last Saturday as they took on opposition from Selborne College as well as several local rowing clubs on the Buffalo River in East London.

The event took place to celebrate the 140th Anniversary of Leander Rowing Club with competitors racing against the clock over a 3000-metre course up and down the river.

The College crews performed strongly, especially given little preparation time so far. It was also a first ever rowing event for a number of boys who have started rowing in the last year. They acquitted themselves very well in what were challenging conditions at times and gained a wealth of experience to take them forward.

In the Senior Pairs event, the combination of Scott Moorcroft and Daniel Cotton took the overall win with Matthew Powell and Dylan Heurlin close behind in 2nd position. Joe Kroon and Connor Moorcroft from the U16 age group also put in a good performance racing in the Open category, beating a number of Open and Senior crews.

In the Open 4s event, the College Opens also took 1st and 2nd position with the combination of Daniel Cotton, Justin Charles, Jack Schmidt and Dylan Heurlin taking the overall category win.

The coxed four of Matthew Powell, Scott Moorcroft, Scott Ritchie, Benjamin Terry, coxed by Jared Hayes took second place overall, 40 seconds ahead of the fastest Selborne crew.

In the U16 age group, our crews took wins in both the A and B coxed four races as well as in the Eights.

– St Andrews 1 U16 4+ consisted of Joe Kroon, Connor Moorcroft, Max Estcourt, Aiden Wood, cox: Tristan Murray
– St Andrews 2 U16 4+ James Stapylton-Smith, Julian Mapoore, Stuart Todd, Nicolaas Swart, cox: Likhona Mabanga
– St Andrews U16 8+ Aiden Wood, James Stapylton-Smith, Julian Mapoore, Max Estcourt, Stuart Todd, Alex Calder, Blake Antrobus, Nicolaas Swart, Cox: Likhona Mabanga