Inter-House Gala 2021 - St Andrew's College

Inter-House Gala 2021

Debate Team Captain
Mar 4, 2021
Information Session in Port Elizabeth – 9 March 2021
Mar 4, 2021

Inter-House Gala 2021

The Inter-House Gala came at the perfect time after what has been a challenging year. The normal competition between The College Boarding Houses was bigger than ever as the boys enjoyed some competitive sport once again.

There was some excellent swimming over the 3 different days and quite a few records were broken.

We have an exciting new swimmer in grade 8, Adam Nurse who won all seven races in swam in including the u15 400m Freestyle and 200m Breaststroke as well as setting a record for the 50m breaststroke in a time of 36.17s, beating Oliva Lange’s 2018 record of 36.53s. Callum Emslie won the u14 50m backstroke, Connor McNamara won the u14 100m Individual medley and 100m backstroke and Daniel Fowlds won the 50m backstroke.

The u15 races were dominated by Nick Franklin who won 6 races, while Jono Mackenzie won the 100m breaststroke, Murray Wilson won the 50m Breaststroke and Gareth Johnstone won the 100m backstroke.

The u16 races were dominated by Jason Dovey who won all 6 races he competed in, while Like Rowley won the 50m and 100m Breaststroke and Michael Mulcahy won the 50m and 100m backstroke.

The open races were an even affair, with Joss Hempel winning 5 races and setting a record on the 400m Freestyle with a time of 04:21.95 and the 200m Freestyle with a time of 2:03.44 beating a record that has been standing since 2016. Oliva Lange won 4 races and setting a record in the 200 Individual medley of 2:15.39, taking 6s off the previous record and setting a record for the 50m Breaststroke of 30.67, beating the record that has been standing since 2012. Kai Lublinkhof won the 50m and 100m backstroke and Cameron Rafferty won the 50m Freestyle in a very tight finish.

Ethan John won the Institute Cup for his contribution to swimming and The Mike Lake Cup for Endeavour.

The Junior Cocoa Cup was won by Upper and the Senior Cocoa Cup was won by Merriman.

The relays were dominated by Upper House, however they had to share in the spoils with Mullins in the u14 section, Espin in the u16 section and Graham in the Open section and the won the u15 section quite comfortably.

The results were as follows:

Individual Events:

1st – Upper: 779 points

2nd – Graham: 598 points

3rd – Espin: 506 points

4th – Armstrong: 505 points

5th – Mullins: 393 points

6th – Merriman: 347 points


1st – Upper: 104 points

2nd – Armstrong: 93 points

3rd – Merriman: 85 points

4th – Mullins: 79 points

5th – Graham: 78 points

6th – Espin: 77 points


1st – Upper: 883 points

2nd –   Graham: 676 points

3rd – Armstrong: 598 points

4th – Espin: 583 points

5th: Mullins: 472 points

6th: Merriman: 432 points