Cricket Club Report - St Andrew's College

Cricket Club Report

College Rowers Flourish at The South African Rowing Championships
Mar 7, 2017
2017 IBSC Conference
Mar 17, 2017

Cricket Club Report

Cricket Saturday vs. Graeme College

The College 1st XI won their match vs Graeme College on Somerset Field. Peter Jarvis 155* and Chris Benjamin 108* set up a lunch time declaration on 272. James Quarmby, Ryan Ford and Chris Norval picked up 3 wickets each securing the win for College.

Club Highlights:


Tom MacRobert 4/35, Dale Brody 7/18, Matthew Barlow 4/39, Daniel Erasmus 4/31, Charlie Fleming 4/10, Nick Rawbone-Viljoen 4-12, Miles Danckwerts 5/27, Jacob Erasmus 4-24


James Mullins 101, Luke Danckwerts 88, Nic Barlow 54, Brian Cordner 58

Callum Frances 90, Matthew Pope 58*, Andrew MacKenzie 56, Ant More 63, Andrew Jelley 72, Murray Breetzke 30*, Yash Gopal 113

1st XI CSA T20 Cricket Competition

Robert Quarmby gets hold of one over mid-wicket in the CSA T20 final vs Selborne College

The 1st XI won their match last week vs Marlow at the MCG and pulled off a tight 5 wicket win vs Woodridge on Sunday. David Rushmere 46*and Peter Jarvis 44* secured the 10 wicket win vs Marlow and their 60 run 1st wicket partnership vs Woodridge gave College a strong foundation in their 5 wicket win. Earlier the College bowlers bowled beautifully as a unit restricting Woodridge to 115 in their 20 overs.

Yesterday in the regional final, College struggled to gain momentum in their batting innings vs Selborne College. The Selborne bowlers bowled a good length on the slow pitch restricting College to 103/6 in their 20 overs. Peter Jarvis adapted well to the conditions for College in his solid knock of 52 runs off 54 balls.  In reply Selborne also found it tough to score, but Matt Dewar batted superbly for Selborne holding their run chase together, with a smart innings of 33 runs not out off 35 balls. Selborne won by 6 wickets and are well-deserved winners of the Warriors Franchise. Focus school, Hudson Park along with Selborne will represent the Eastern Cape at the national 20/20 tournament held in Stellenbosch.